Agricultural Extension 

The Metropolitan Food and Agriculture Directorate is headed by a Director who oversees its activities and operations.  It consists of six (6) departments, each headed by an officer.  They are the Veterinary Services; Livestock Production; Crops, Plant Protection and Regulatory Services; Extension Services; Women in Agriculture Department and the Management Information System Department.

The veterinary department has ten (10) officers comprising four (4) field technical officers and six (6) abattoir technical officers.

There are twenty-two (22) extension agents in the Metropolis.  However, the metropolis has been divided into nineteen (19) operational zones with an extension agent each.  Extension services cover areas such as crops, pets, large and small ruminants, poultry, aquaculture, piggery, abattoir inspection, snail, grasscutter and rabbit production and the control of the use of insecticides, pesticides and weedicides.


Date Created : 11/28/2017 7:03:35 AM