Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
other districts in region
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites

location & size:

The East Mamprusi District has two Town Councils (Gambaga and Nalerigu), and three Area Councils (Langbensi, Sakogu and Gbintiri).  There are thirty-four unit comnmittees.  The district is also home to one parliamentary constituency known as Nalerigu-Gambaga.

The East Mamprusi District is one of the twenty Metropolitan/Municipal/Districts of the Northern Region and has capital at Gambaga.  It is located to the north-eastern part of the Region. To the North it shares boundaries with the  Talensi Nabdam District, Bawku West and Garu-Tempane Districts, all in the Upper East Region and to the East Bunkpurugu-Yunyoo District.  It is bordered to the West by the West Mamprusi District and the South by Gusheigu District.

The District covers an area of 1660sq km., which is about 2.2% of the total area of the Region. The land size of the District would serve as a big opportunity for large scale rearing of animals and farming.

 view links:

Relevant District Data

 Also in this district
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services