Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
other districts in region
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites

good governance

Institutional and Administrative Arrangements
The institutional and administrative arrangements of the Asante Akim Central Municipal  in line with the provisions of the Local Government System Act, 1993 (ACT 462) does not seem to be different from the situation identified in the 2002-2004 Medium Term Development Plan. The Asante Akim Central  Municipal Assembly was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 1418 of 23rd November 1988. The Assembly is the political administrative authority with the mission “to ensure improvement on the quality of life of the people through the formulation and implementation of policies to promote agriculture, education, health and other basic infrastructure by highly motivated and skilled staff with the principles of honesty, transparency and accountability”.

Structure of the Asante Akim North Municipal Assembly
For effective decentralization process at the lower levels in the government hierarchy and to open the planning process to make it more responsive to the needs of the local population; the Municipality has two (2) Urban Councils (Konongo-Odumase and Agogo), four (4) Area Councils (Dwease-Praaso, Oweriagya, Owerriman and Amantenaman) and 138 Unit Committees and one (1) electoral constituency. 

The Assembly is made up of sixty-one (62) Assembly Members of whom forty-two (42) or two-thirds are elected by universal adult suffrage and eighteen (19) are government appointees with the Member of Parliament and the Municipal Chief Executive as Ex-officio members. The Assembly is presided over by the Presiding Member elected from among their rank.

The Assembly performs its function through its Executive Committee and network of Sub-Committees in accordance with Sections 21 (1) and 24 (1) of the Local Government Act, 1993, Act 462. The sub-committees of the assembly are as follows:
  • Development Planning Sub-Committee;
  • Social Services Sub-Committee;
  • Works Sub-Committee;
  • Finance and Administration Sub-Committee;
  • Justice and Security Sub-Committee.
The Assembly have created two other Sub-Committees, Agriculture and Education in view of their relative importance in the Municipality.The executive and co-ordinating functions of the  Assembly are performed by Executive Committee, which is presided over by the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) and consists of not more than one-third of the total number of members of the Assembly; based on Section 19 (1) and 21 (1) of Act 462.

To ensure effective administration of theMunicipa Assembly, the MCE is supported by a central administration and decentralized departments. The Municipal central administrative office is headed by the MCE who is supported by the Municipal Co-ordinating Director (MCD) who reports to the MCE and is in-charge of the day to day administration of the Assembly.

A survey of the district indicates that the following eleven decentralized departments exist in the Municipality:
  1. Central Administration (Planning and Co-ordinating Unit, Births & Death Registry, Information Service Dept., Statistical Service)
  2. Education, Youth & Sports
  3. Social Welfare and Community Development
  4. Works (Public Works, Feeder Roads)
  5. Physical Planning (Town & Country Planning, Parks & Garden)
  6. Finance
  7. Natural Resource Conservation (Forestry, Games & Wildlife)
  8. Trade & Industry (NBSSI & Co-operatives)
  9. Disaster Prevention (NADMO, Fire Service)
  10. Health 
  11. Agriculture (Animal Health & Production, Agricultural Extension Services)
Functions of the Asante Akim Central Municipal Assembly
The Assembly’s functions are basically derived from the statue as mandated by the Local Government Act and the Legislative Instrument No. 1418 of 1988 which created it. Specifically the functions are indicated as follows:
  1. To see to the overall development of the Assembly by ensuring the preparation and submission of the following through the Regional Co-ordinating Council: Development Plans of the Assembly to the National Development Planning Commission for approval The budget of the Asseembly to the Ministry of Finance for approval
  2. Formulate and execute plans, programmes and strategies for the effective mobilisation of the resources, necessary for the overall development
  3. Promote and support productive activity and social development ;
  4. Initiate programmes for the development of basic infrastructure and provide works and services
  5. Responsible for the development, improvement and management of human settlement and environment in the Municipality
Sub-Municipal Structures of Asante Akim Central
The Sub-Municipal Structures of the Assembly (Urban/Town/Area Council & Unit Committees) performs functions as stipulated in the Legislative Instrument No. 1589 and other functions as delegated to them by the Assembly. However, these sub-structures have not been able to perform effectively due to lack of adequate staff, (e.g. clerk, treasurers, typists) accommodation and logistics.

Traditional Authorities
Traditional Chiefs and Queen Mothers rule the towns and villages. The municipality has three (3) traditional councils namely Agogo Traditional Council, Konongo Traditional Council, and Odumasi Traditional Council.

Private Sector Participation
The private sector is seen as a contributor to the growth of the municipality economy stepping from its participation in private schools, entrepreneur, small-scale mining and Micro Credit Institutions.

Non Governmental Organizations/Community Based Organizations
Some few NGOs and CBOs exist in the municipality and are engaged in a number of activities to enhance the provision of basic services (Water & Sanitation, Health, Education, Housing etc.). Notable among these groups are the World Vision International (operate mainly in the Afram Plains region ), Habitat for Humanities (provision of affordable accommodation), Mercy Mission (provision of vocational skills for the disabled) and Catholic Relief Services (provision of relief items to the vulnerable).  With financial assistance from Ghana AIDS Commission some CBOs and NGOs have been able to intensify their campaign against the spread of HIV/AIDS in the district. However, lack of effective collaboration and coordination between these groups and the assembly is undermining their effort in the Municipality.

Legal Processes
The Municipality has two magistrate courts in Konongo and Agogo presided over by a magistrate stationed in Konongo. 

Public Safety/Security
The Municipality has a Divisional Police Commander who oversees the stations at Konongo, Odumasi, Agogo, Juansa and Dwease Praaso. There is relative peace and calmness in the district but the invasion and incursion of Fulani herdsmen in the Afram Plains portion of the municipality has created tension, instability and insecurity in the Plains. With logistic supports from the Assembly, the Municipal Security Committee (MISEC) in collaboration with the Regional Security Committee (REGSEC) have been assisting to calm the situation.

To aid effective operation of the divisional command  of the Assembly has constructed a bungalow and provided adequate office accommodation as well as four (4) mobile phones were given to the Police Commander to help promote smooth communication between the police command and police officers.











 view links:

Relevant District Data

 Also in this district
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services