"Berekum East NPP remains resolute" - MP
Dr. Kwabena Nuama, Member of Parliament (MP) for Berekum East Constituency of the Brong Ahafo Region, has reaffirmed the rapport existing between the hierarchy of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and its followers from the grassroot level, describing it as 'cordial and resolute'.

Date Created : 2/26/2018 8:54:59 AM : Story Author : Pius Agyemang/Ghanadistricts.com

The Honourable MP made the assessment in his residence at Berekum Sunday afternoon, barely a few hours after attending a thanks-giving service to acknowledge the Almighty God for seeing the party through a competitive and heated but peaceful Constituency Executive election held on February 24, this year at the Runners Hotel in Brenyekwa, a suburb of Berekum.

He stated that the peaceful coexistence and cordial relation witnessed from the outset of the elections down from the polling station level through to the Constituency Executive polls, likewise its aftermath, attested to the fact that the party remained united, tactful and resolute notwithstanding an internal wrangling of any sort.

He buttressed his stance with the fact that considering the solidarity, unifying front, love and ecstasy with which both winning and losing candidates and their fans embraced one another, met with each other, exchanged pleasantries and forged ahead in unity attending religious and social functions together, potrayed the level of understanding, maturity and cordiality among the party faithful and hierarchy at large.

Urging members of the party not to be over complacent with the current state of affairs, Dr Nuama asked the newly elected candidates to work smarter to reaffirm the confidence reposed in them by the delegates.

He equally pleaded with the losing aspirants and their sympathizers to continue to route solidly behind the executive members elect to represent the Constituency at all levels of endeavour so as to retain the seat of Government in both the Executive arm and the Legislative assembly in the 2020 general elections.

In a related development, the newly-elected Chairman of the Constituency, Stephen Kwaku Kankam, who polled 173 votes out of the 538 total votes cast to outshine all the five (5) other contestants, expressed the compliments of the members elect to the voters who cast their ballots for them thus mandating them to run the affairs of the party at the constituency level.

He pledged to mobilize personnel, garner any available resources and work diligently to make the NPP (Government) more attractive not only to the staunch members of the party but also to the entire citizenry at large.

Results at a Glance

The position of the Constituency Secretary went to Harrison Asomah who polled 338 votes to beat his only contender, Asamoah Stephen, who had 202 votes, whereas George Henneh obtained 297 ballots to occupy the position of the Deputy Secretary as against 244 votes for Kwadwo Bernasko.

Hinneh Joe Bismark was given the nod as the 1st Vice Chairman of the party ahead of three other aspirants, whilst Daniel Kwasi Asare polled 315 votes to win the 2nd Vice Chairmanship slot ahead of four other competitors.

Mr Kwame Amankona got 342 votes to scale through as Treasurer as against 197 ballots obtained by his sole contestant, Grace Asuako (197 votes). Mrs Frimpong Ernestina (a.k.a. Ataa Yaa Efiritete) obtained 247 ballots to beat his two competitors to the Women Organizer slot.

The main Organizer and the Youth Organizer slots in the Berekum East Constituency were occupied by Emmanuel Amponsah and Yaw Frimpong who obtained 174 ballots and 201 valid votes respectively.