Dennis Abugri to succeed Azonko as National President Of CLOGSAG
Reports emanating from University of Cape Coast campus where the Civil and Local Government Staff Association, Ghana ( CLOGSAG ) has met for their 13th Quadrennial National Delegates' Congress indicate that, Mr Dennis Abugri Amenga an astute Agriculturist and reputable member of the Association is likely to be elected as the next National President of the Labour Union.

Date Created : 1/4/2019 6:57:15 AM : Story Author : Daniel Akwasi Nuako/

Mr Abugri Amenga, an erstwhile Regional Chairman of CLOGSAG in Brong Ahafo lost narrowly to the outgoing National President, Alhaji Mahamadu Azonko in the last election held in the same venue barely four years ago.

About 627 delegates drawn from ten regions of the country have besieged the campus of UCC for National Delegates' Congress from 2nd January to 6th January, 2019 to among other activities elect national officers to steer the affairs of the Association for another four years term.

The reports further predicted about 65 per cent victory for the former BA chairman who has served the Association in various capacities in district, regional and national levels, over his lone contender Mr Daniel Nkrumah, an Administrator.

Mr Daniel Nkrumah unlike his contender in 2014, failed in his bid to become the regional chairman for the Association in the Ashanti Region, the far he could have come as far as holding an office in the Association.

It looks certain the severe clamour for change in the direction of the Association would be the reason for the victory for the man most of the delegates believe represents the voice for the voiceless besides his leadership prowess.

The holder of MSc Agriculture from the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology will serve for only four years when elected to the highest office of the Association because he would retire from active service in 2024.

Other candidates likely to be endorsed by delegates in their re-election bid include Mr Emmanuel Acquah, Organizer and Trustee duo of Messrs Ernest Tagoe and Henry Asomah.