# REPORT ON THE TRAINING ELECTION AND INAUGURATION OF ZONAL COUNCIL IN KWAEBIBIREM MUNICIPAL ASSEMBLY HELD ON 17TH FEBRUARY TO 21<sup>ST</sup> FEBRUARY 2020

#### **INTRODUCTION**

This report covers a Five Day (5) Inauguration and Training of the Five (5) Zonal Councils namely; Nkwantanang Zonal Council, Abaam Zonal Council, Kwae Zonal Council, Kade Zonal Council and Asuom Zonal Council. The Assembly in collaboration with CDD I AM AWARE made the programme a successful one.

#### WELCOME ADDRESS BY THE MUNICIPAL CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Municipal Chief Executive in his introductory remarks said he deemed it a great pleasure to welcome all the honourable members to the inauguration of the Zonal Councils.

He said the Zonal Councils had to be reconstituted after the new Assembly Members and Unit Committee members were elected in 2019. As part of the operationalization of the substructures, there was the need to constitute and inaugurate the 5 Zonal Councils which fall under the Kwaebibirem Municipality to enable them perform their assigned duties.

The Municipal Chief Executive also entreated honourable members to work as a team so as to ensure good governance and accelerated development of their respective communities.



Hon Seth Antwi Boasiako (MCE) at the Kade Zonal Council

#### **Facilitation**

Mr Mahmud Shakil (Clinton and Gbanbga Consult) took Assembly Members and Unit Committee members through a participatory training

#### **Mode/Outline Presentation**

- Local government structure
- Structure of the Assembly
- Departments of the Assembly
- Regional breakdown of MMDAs
- Composition, Functions and meetings of the Zonal Council
- Notice of meetings and implication
- Staffing and adminstration of Zonal Council
- Composition, functions meetings of the Unit committees
- Staffing and Adminstration of the Unit committee
- Roles of Various Levels Of Government

#### TRAINING MATERIALS

- Participants were given pens and notepad
- Projector was mounted to display slides of presentation

#### MODE OF TRAINING

- Participatory Training
- Assignment work
- Questions and Answers



Mr shackil Mahmud Facilitating at the Kwae Zonal Council



Mr Shakil Mahmud (Clinton and Gbangba Consult)facilitating at the Abaam zonal council

## **ELECTION OF ZONAL COUNCIL MEMBERS**

The Presiding Member presided on the election of Assembly Members and Unit Committee members of the councils.



Hon Justice Oduro Quayson Zonal Council Chairman for the Kwae Zonal Council

Zonal council members

## 1. NKWANTANANG ZONAL COUNCIL

NO	NAME	TELEPHONE
1	Zakari Abdul Munim	0241318629
2	Sakwa Timothy	0241379582
3	Mensah Daniel	0548193767
4	Boadi Samuel	0549431866
5	Nortey Yinusah	0248809256
6	Kwabena Samuel	0543941072
7	Ernest Adu Danquah	0244279371
8	Boapeah Micheal	0247090605
9	Moses Adams	0246678301
10	Yeboah Seth	0243621436
11	Tetteh Larweh	0245287401
12	Janet Serwaa	0242967955
13	Ransford Abirem	0246565487
14	Opoku Nti Ernest	0243231223
15	Awuakye Richard	0550469686

## 2. ABAAM ZONAL COUNCIL

No	Name	Telephone
1	Adu Kwame Seth	0554067713
2	Sampson Yeboah	0542808843
3	Millicent Owireduwaa	
4	Francis Kwarteng	0548221810
5	Maxwell Okyere	0245601471
6	Obeng Asare Prince	0248929807
7	Kakari Stephen	0248929821
8	Asante Dickson	0543930231
9	Baafi Samuel	0540388480
10	Asante Nimako Eric	0244309251
11	Baffour Twum	0541077101
12	Dominic Annor Acheampong	0244733350
13	Samuel Agyapong	0248524497
14	Osei Daniel (Chairman)	0242949444

## 3. KWAE ZONAL COUNCILS

No	NAME	TELEPHONE
1	Cecelia Asiedu	
2	Martey Tetteh Wisdom	0248779424
3	Amos Kwaku Nimoh	0243153972
4	Seth Akomaning	0246260298
5	Regina Addae	0246836409
6	Opare Micheal	0242813045
7	Twum Ebenezer	0543456697
8	Awuku Ernest	0248995115
9	Tetteh Moses	0540397190
10	Kpeglo Sampson	0542515524
11	Agyei John	0242913316
12	Offei Kwadjo John	0242158283
13	Justice Oduro Quayson (Chairman)	0544878637

## 4. KADE ZONAL COUNCIL

No	NAME	TELEPHONE
1	Hon. Sahmudeen Yakubo (Chairman)	0244034773
2	Hon. Isaac Kofi Amoako	0248147132
3	Hon. Agyei – Boamah Prince	0248224580
4	Hon. Martin K. Logah	0242337933
5	Hon. Samuel Fenteng	0242594144
6	Diana Osei	0244160981
7	Asare Eric Amoah	0547940029
8	Umar Usman	0240623484
9	Twumasi Ellicet	0245982331
10	Ayishatu Ibrahim	0248104566
11	Abubakar A	0242223375
12	Asare Desmond	0241045182
13	Ophelia BOateng	0242119113
14	Ofori Effah	0245138830
15	Samuel Quansah	0249518259

## 5. ASUOM ZONAL COUNCIL

No	NAME	TELEPHONE
1	Obed Aboagye Sarkodie	0243335204
2	Samuel Pobee Asomaning	0240121395
3	Seth Koranteng	0556711938
4	Osei Richard	0246304481
5	Sarpong Jones	0558761130
6	Stephen Sackitey	0543254351
7	Kwabena Yeboah – Korankye	0261479190
8	Paul Ofosuhene	0240414035
9	Ernest Oko Ampofo	0241424135
10	George Anikpi	0241230416
11	Hayford Obeng	0243132103
12	Amponsah Richard	0542743314
13	Jona Fobi	0255966670
14	Kwaku Boakye	0550889032
15	Ampofo Raymond	0247565376

## **SWEARING OF AN OATHS**

All elected members sworn the oath of secrecy and the official oath which confirms that they are members of the zonal council and helps to check the code of conduct by all members of the zonal council.



Swearing in at Nkwantanang Zonal Council

## APPOINTMENT OF SECRETORIES

The Municipal Coordinating Director appointed five (5) Technical Staffs who will be secretaries to the zonal council



F.Owusu- Akowuah Municipal coordinating Director at Asuom Zonal council

#### SECRETARIES FOR THE ZONAL COUNCIL

Name	Zonal council
Henry Daniels	Kwae
Ebenezer Ofosu	Asuom
Russel Addotey	Nkwantanang
Kofi Afful Asomani	Abaam
Eunice Alimo	Kade

#### **ATTENDANCE**

## A total of 346 attended the program this comprises of 62 females and 284 males

## Challenges

- Inadequate zonal council office space in the municipality
- Improper demarcation of communities forming a zonal council

• Delay in the DACF

#### RECOMMENDATION

- Assembly should put office accommadation at all zonal councils in the municipality
- Assembly should review the seeded revenue item to the various zones
- Assembly should post technical staffs and permanent revenue collector to all the zonal councils who will be stationed at the communities.