Upper East

Builsa South

Map is not available

The Builsa South District was created on 7th June, 2012. It was carved out of the then Builsa District. The district is one of the four that were created in the region in 2012 that brought the total number of districts in the region to thirteen. It has Fumbisi as its administrative capital. The Legislative Instrument that mandated its establishment is the Local Government Act, 1993 (Act 462) of 2012 is (LI 2104).

The topography of the area is undulating and slopes ranging from 200 meters to 300 meters, in the western and northern parts of the district particularly around Kaseisa and Doninga zones. In the most popular Fumbisi valleys where farming is done throughout the year, the slopes are gentler and ranges from 150 metres to 200 metres.

 Builsa South District lies between longitudes 1 0 05’ West and 10 35’ West and latitudes 100 20’ North and 100 50’ North of the equator. The district shares boundaries with the Builsa North district to the north, Mamprugu Moagduri District in the Northern Region to the South, West Mamprusi District to the west, and the Sisala East District in the Upper West Region to the east. 

The population of the district according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at 36,514 with 18,100 and 18,414 females.