Map is not available

The Sagnarigu District with its capital at Sagnarigu is one of the six (6) newly created districts in the Northern Region in the first half of 2012. It was carved out of the Tamale Metropolis by Legislative Instrument (LI) 2066. The district was inaugurated on 24th June, 2012. One of the reasons for the creation of the district was to redirect developmental projects to the communities north and west of the Metropolis (now Sagnarigu) which were relatively less developed as compared to the urban areas in the Tamale Metropolis.

The Sagnarigu District has 79 communities, comprising of 20 urban, 6 peri-urban, and 53 rural areas. The district covers a total land size of 200.4km² and shares boundaries with the Savelugu - Nanton Municipality to the north, Tamale Metropolis to the south and east, Tolon District to the west and Kumbungu District to the north-west. Geographically, the district lies between latitudes 9º16’ and 9º 34’ North and longitudes 0º 36’ and 0º 57’ West. 

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 148,099 with 74,886 males and 73,213 females.