Map is not available

Kumbugu District with its capital Kumbugu was carved from Tolon-Kumbugu and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.The President H.E. J.E.A Mills, by an Executive Instrument (E.I) created 46 new Districts. The District was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I)  2062.

All the inaugurated and confirmed MMDAs established are operational with immediate effect hence bringing the total number of MMDAs to 216.These new creations arose as a result of the large size of some of the then 170 MMDAs which was not one way or the other allowing the government to fully implement its policies of local governance to the benefit of the entire citizenary. The district shares boundaries with Savelugu-Nanton Municipal to the East, Tolon District to the south, North Gonja District to the West, And to the north with Mamprugo/ Moaduri District respectively.


The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 39,341 with 19,686 males and 19,655 females.